Join now - be part of our community!

Screen dead and big issues with my Vaio VGN-NR38Z

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
annorma13
Visitor

Screen dead and big issues with my Vaio VGN-NR38Z

Hi all,

I am a real computer novice and would really love some help!

On turning on my Vaio VGN-NR38Z I am finding that the screen is dead, no image, part image or broken attempt at any life on screen at all, the computer is also gets quite hot in no time at all.....

I may be imagining it but I can't hear the fan kick in as I 'think' it should either.....I may be imagining this part......

Any suggestions guys?

Thanks for your time!

Andy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
profile.country.GB.title
rich912
Contributor

Hi Andy,

Leaving aside the heat issue for the time being, is there any indication that the notebook is booting despite lack of display – hard disk activity(flashing hard disk LED)/Windows startup sound?

If possible can you try attaching an external monitor? This, dependant on result, should give an indication of whether there is an LCD screen problem or a video chip/memory/motherboard problem.

Rich

Go n-éirí an bóthar leat

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
profile.country.GB.title
rich912
Contributor

Hi Andy,

Leaving aside the heat issue for the time being, is there any indication that the notebook is booting despite lack of display – hard disk activity(flashing hard disk LED)/Windows startup sound?

If possible can you try attaching an external monitor? This, dependant on result, should give an indication of whether there is an LCD screen problem or a video chip/memory/motherboard problem.

Rich

Go n-éirí an bóthar leat
annorma13
Visitor

Hi Rich,

This was an excellent call, I connected my PC monitor to the laptop and for some reason it activated the laptop screen......I originally thought that I had deactivated the laptop screen somehow but I checked this....hmmm...