Join now - be part of our community!

How can I create a copy of the rescue drive?

profile.country.en_GB.title
omar-m
Visitor

How can I create a copy of the rescue drive?

I have a Vpceb3f4e - the hard drive has gone

(I asked in my other thread about getting rescue media - I don't fancy paying £50 + calling 0906 number)

The drive that stores the rescue part is still OK - I can boot up and run it

When looked at using Explorer, no files can be seen - assuming it's not accessible this way

I've got a new hard disc

How can I copy the rescue drive and copy onto the new hard disc?

Thanks

Omar

7 REPLIES 7
profile.country.GB.title
rich912
Contributor

Hi Omar,

I have no experience of transferring the recovery partition to a new drive. Acronis may be an option but placing it in the correct location at the start of the new drive may be problematical.

If you are sure that the original recovery partition is intact have you tried pressing F10 at boot with the HDD in the original machine to attempt to access recovery options? If the C drive is damaged this may not work but worth a try...

Rich

Go n-éirí an bóthar leat
omar-m
Visitor

i've tried f8, and f12 - no response (or at least not the correct response)

then i read up that u keep the 'assist' button down

this takes me to the recovery options

it goes away and says it's recovering - but 6 hours later, just gives up

there *must* be a way of grabbing the image??

does it have to be at the begining? if so, is there no way of putting it there??

thanks

profile.country.GB.title
rich912
Contributor

Hi Omar,

It may very well be possible to copy the recovery partition to the new hard drive and in the correct position but I don’t know how.

Have you tried any of the tools available in Vaio Care Rescue, in particular Hardware Diagnostics > Hard Disk Verify and Repair?