Join now - be part of our community!

manual retune

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
macma13
Visitor

manual retune

When retuning I was only offered the wrong region (wales) so have to manually retune however the online instructions are confusing as they say

select>setup or installation

select >manual retune or search

then enter a code if asked- I'm not asked

then it talks about typing eg 61 for bbc services I am unable to proceed as I'ts clearly wrong HEELLP :thinking:

we have Sony Bravia KDL40EX403U

thanks

ps I'm not very good at this but could follow instructions :dizzy:

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
KDL-CX520
Visitor

Hello macma13,

Regarding manual scan, i looked for your model online manual but there is not much details how to do. because it is considerd as a basic step for customers no need more details.

I believe most Sony TVs manual scan interface page will be similar, so i would tell you how i do it with my KDL-46CX520 , you may try this in your model to overcome the problem , This MAY be help

generally there are two types for manual scan, scan by channel number or scan by frequency (all are within UHF band for digital broadcast)

- go to manual scan> mark on Scan type and press ok then select frequency scan instead of channel scan

- get the BBC channel frequency from the internet (as example)

- go back to your TV and input the frequency in the line next to scan type then press Scan UP or Scan down and see if you get some signals

If your region has many broadcast transmitters, sure there will be some difficulties in tune up, so your antenna should be well alignment toward the tower and avoid using strong antenna booster (booster with gain control knob is always better)

Hope this helps

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Bravia55HX

Hi,

i would like to offer some thoughts since no one responded to your post,

i am not sure what the real issue here is and what you mean by wrong region so....