Join now - be part of our community!

focus issues - new SEL70200GM f2.8

profile.country.GB.title
terfarr78
New

focus issues - new SEL70200GM f2.8

firstly lol very new to photography and learning - so it may just be me  - i have an a7riv - i am having issues with focus with a new lens 70 - 200 f2/-8 - at first i wondered if my lack of knowledge and skill but i have used the 100 - 400 and also recently 24 - 70 f2.8 and although not perfect i have had some great sharp images - but for some reason with this lens the photos are terrible - even i can't have got worse lol - in manual - raw - af-c   - wide focus area for the moment but have started using back button focus - i am a novice so i could be just doing something wrong - i am watching and following all videos and tutorials - can anyone just let me know what i am doing wrong or can lens have faults thank you  - xt

Tags (3)
2 REPLIES 2
profile.country.DE.title
Peter_S.
Genius

Hi terfarr,

Hmm, if the pictures with the other lenses are fine then you should do everything right.

Maybe the 70-200 is faulty.

Have you tried to focus manually?

What is the shutter speed? Usually you should use a shutter speed of 1/focal length (e.g. focal length is 200 mm then shutter speed should be 1/200).

Cheers

Peter

profile.country.GB.title
terfarr78
New

thank you for reply 
i am new so manual focus would be all new so not tried that yet 
the shutter speed is generally between 200 - 800 at the moment as only minimal movement
i hope lens not faulty as literally just got last week lol